The search is on for MISS MAKATI 2019

The city government of Makati led by Mayor Abby Binay today formally presented the 24 candidates vying for the crown of Miss Makati 2019 in a press conference held at The Conservatory, Peninsula Manila.

With the pageant theme “Creating the Future Now”, the search for Miss Makati 2019 is focused on highlighting women’s roles in building a smart, sustainable and future-ready Makati. The event is part of the month-long observance of the 349th Araw ng Makati themed “Makati 2025: Fast-tracking Progress”.

On behalf of the mayor, Dwayne Samarista of the city Museum and Cultural Affairs Office (MCAO) welcomed members of the media and proudly presented the 24 Makatizen women who passed preliminary screenings and made it to the final stage of the pageant.

In a statement, Mayor Abby said Miss Makati 2019 shall embody the shared vision and aspirations of the city and its people. “From among our candidates, we will seek not only beauty, grace and intelligence, but also the ability to inspire positive change among fellow Makatizens.,” she stated.

The candidates who come from the different barangays of Makati were able to meet the basic qualifications set for the search for Miss Makati, as follows: single Filipino female; 17-25 years old; lives, works or studies in Makati; at least 5’4” tall; and at least high school graduate or currently in Grade 12.

The coronation of Miss Makati 2019 will be held at the Makati Coliseum on June 21, 2019.  The board of judges is chaired by fashion designer Albert Andrada, and includes fashion designers Paul Cabral and Anthony Ramirez; Shiela Romero, CEO of Air Asia; Kate Pagkalinawan, CEO and president of iSkin Aesthetic Lifestyle; George Royeca, Angkas regulatory and public affairs head; Tim Yap, TV host and entrepreneur; actress Ruffa Gutierrez; and actor Franco Laurel.

Out of over 50 aspirants, the 24 finalists include Micah Beatrice Santos (Carmona); Charlene Marie Inonog (Kasilawan); Stephanie Isabelle Aquino (Poblacion); Kristina Cassandra Bahaj (Sta. Cruz); Sophia Michaela Leanne Aguado (Pio del Pilar); Alliaa Nicole Diputado (Tejeros); Venice Kayla Barrameda (Guadalupe Viejo); Gianelle Anne Balaton (Valenzuela); Patricia Rose Pangan (San Isidro); Bianca Gabrielle Abaya (Poblacion); Lailah Guiuan (Pembo); Kaoru Aseana Pimentel (South Cembo); and Jan Karen Esguerra (Bel-Air).

Also on the list are Monica Acuno (West Rembo); Hannah Patricia Beatrice Kristiansen (Northside); Desiree Harriet Alyanna Gamboa (Guadalupe Viejo); Charlyn Joyce Barrientos (Southside); Ma. Anna Clarisse Villavicencio (San Antonio); Marie Gabrielle Brillantes (Poblacion); Princess Vinia Putulin (South Cembo); Renee Rose Tirones (San Lorenzo); Elliah Kate Nicolas (East Rembo); Jeanne Pauline Suplente (Guadalupe Viejo); and  Erika Mae Salvador (Comembo).

Whoever wins the ‘Miss Makati’ crown will win P200,000 as cash prize, while ‘Miss Makati Tourism’ will win P150,000 cash prize, and ‘Miss Makatizen’ will win P100,000 cash prize. Special awards from Air Asia, ISkin Aesthetic Lifestyle and Balmain will also be given to candidates of their choice. The other pageant sponsors are Folded and Hung, Figlia shoes, HBC (Home of Beauty Color), DCP (Design Council Philippines), SGV, and St. Giles Hotel.